Better Late than Never?

Well, I finally finished my Knitting Olympics hat.

The astute among you will realize that the (real) Olympics ended about a month ago.  So this hat has taken me about six weeks.

*However*, I think it was too ambitious a project for a two-week period when I was recovering from jet-lag and working full time.

But I accomplished the intention in regard to stretching my abilities, etc.  This is my first real fair-isle project.  (Note:  It hasn’t been blocked yet–it’ll be a little less lumpy after blocking…..)

So, without further delay:

 

I need to get someone to take a pic of me in it–I have one, but it’s more me, and less the hat.  🙂

Now–I’m off to design a pair of matching mittens.  So excited about how this turned out!

5 Responses to “Better Late than Never?”

  1. margaret Says:

    Your hat looks great! You will have alot of color choices for mittens. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

  2. Genia Says:

    Beautiful!! Hello Yarn has a ready made graph for mittens if that’s what you’re looking for. Go to http://www.helloyarn.com and click on the free patterns, the graph is there. Even shows you where to start the decreases for the tops.

    Have fun! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  3. Julie Says:

    Gorgeous hat! Looking forward to seeing it on you. I finally got (most of) the yarn to do mine (missing 3 colors, but I think they’re in the mail now). I know I should try something simpler first ….

    Oh, and thanks to Genia for the links to the generic Norwegian mitten chart.

  4. Kathy Says:

    It turned out beautifully! I love your blog too – don’t let anyone tell you that there are too many pictures – I could just hear you talking to me about them! Have fun working on the mittens – I’m sure they’ll be beautiful too.

  5. Pete Says:

    I like hats, too. Still wondering when you’re going to make a Jayne hat, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

